Sitemap

Amicuk Programming Answers

Acrobat 9.5.1.283 Preview Handler not working

2015-10-11   Views:0

Advertisement

Windows XP Professional - fully patched. Adobe Acrobat 9.5.1.283 - fully updated. AcroReader 10.1.3.23 When trying to view the preview within Windows Explorer, it indicates that the "Preview is not available". Is it necessary to enable the Previ

Windows XP Professional - fully patched.
Adobe Acrobat 9.5.1.283 - fully updated.
AcroReader 10.1.3.23
When trying to view the preview within Windows Explorer, it indicates that the "Preview is not available".
Is it necessary to enable the Preview Handler and if so, what is that process?  If it worked in the past and no longer works now, what would need to be done to re-enable this option?
Large number of stored PDFs with names that do not define the content of the documents are causing a great strain on using the PDF format.
Please assist if at all possible.
Regards,
Larry W.

The replay answer
Advertisement
You should do the install as the administrator and with anti-virus disabled. Usually the error indicates the patch could not be opened (may be corrupt or not in an accessable folder -- using the administrator might help here). When this happens it is often best to just download the updates (but do a repair first with Help>Repair) from http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/product.jsp?product=1&platform=Windows and install them in order.
There are instructions for downloading the install at http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1061905. However, you still need the SN. You should always backup your downloads to a CD or backup HD when you purchase such products. You should not expect the files to be around online indefinitely. Be sure you also record the SN for the future.

Go to See the other 3 answers

Acrobat 9.5.1.283 Preview Handler not working

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Windows XP Professional - fully patched. Adobe Acrobat 9.5.1.283 - fully updated. AcroReader 10.1.3.23 When trying to view the preview within Windows Explorer, it indicates that the "Preview is not available". Is it necessary to enable the Previ[More]

Issue with Acrobat 10.1.2 and Windows 7 64-bit Preview Handler

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Hi. I work in an enterprise environment that is currently migrating to  64-bit Windows 7. The only version of Acrobat we have approved for Windows 7 is 10.1.2. We're seeing an issue with this version that causes the preview handler to not work. The p[More]

Acrobat Preview Handler Windows Server 2012

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

We have installed a Windows 2012 server standard virtual terminal server for a client. It has now had both Acrobat X and Acrobat XI installed to attempt to rectify the preview handler issue. When selecting a PDF file to preview, Windows will display[More]

PDF Preview Handler Not Working in Outlook 2010

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

I have Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit and Outlook 2010. Everything was working fine, until a few months ago when the PDF Preview Handler stopped working. I got the typical message that others were having with the issue with Adobe Reader 9. I have Adobe Ac[More]

Again after last patch: Windows 64 - PDF preview handler not working

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Adobe's PDF preview handler doesn't work unter Windows XP/Vista/7 64 bit. Because of that PDF preview e.g. in Windows explorer or MS Outlook isn't displaying PDF preview. This issue has been discussed in this forum some months ago, and this page give[More]

PDF Preview Handler does not work

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Hello, We installed Outlook 2010 on a new Windows 7 32bit machine with Acrobat Reader X. The preview handler for PDF files does not work in Outlook 2010.  Reader works fine by itself. If I uninstall Reader X and install verison 9.3 then the Preview H[More]

PDF Preview Handler will not open 1 file

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hi, I have Office 2013 and Acrobat XI, the PDF Handler works fine on all my files except one. Through our online ordering, I get a confirmation email with E-Order.pdf with every confirmation, worked for a while and now gives me the "This file cannot[More]

Adobe Preview Handler Error

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hi I have a problem with the adobe preview handler on Windows Server 2008 R2 When I click on a PDF to preview the file in explorer an internal error is generated I have looked at registering the dll for this but this fails Can anybody suggest a fix t[More]

Enable usage rights breaks the preview handler

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hi guys,      I am using Acrobat 9 Pro to enable the usage rights on forms I have made in Livecycle. The preview handler in Outlook 2010 can show the pdf before I enable usage rights but as soon as the rights are enabled, the preview is not shown any[More]

Adobe PDF Preview Handler Issue in WIndows 8 64 Bit Machine - After installing Adobe Pro 11.0.10

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Hi Guys , We are facing a serious issue with Windows 8 and Adobe PDF Preview Handler . We are using the PDFPrevHndlr.dll from Adobe to show PDF Previews in our application. It is working fine in Windows 7 and Vista and for some reason it is not worki[More]

Can't open PDF's on my Mac coming in on MS Outlook 2010. Reinstalled Adobe software 4 x and still get "Adobe PDF Preview Handler" error message.

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Can't open PDF's on my Mac coming in on MS Outlook 2010. Reinstalled Adobe software 4 x and still get "Adobe PDF Preview Handler" error message.No. Reader will not damage files. It is only meant to read pdf files. PDF files are frequently damage[More]

Hot
Hi, We created PO from sourcing, later we realized that vendor need to be chaged. so we deleted PO line item, but this deleted line item is not displaying in sourcing cockpit. when could be the reason Thanks RaviRavi, Please check the following notes [More]
Is possible to have the ARD admin app use the same database and settings over more than one user account? eg. I have ARD setup on my Mac as I am in charge of our organisations Macs. However if I am away for a few weeks, one of our other techs would b [More]
I was successful in getting my terrific HP LaserJet 5MP to work with Snow Leopard 10.6.8 by connecting it with a USB to parallel cable. But very frequently it appears not to want to print PDFs.  The printer queue window tellsme the printer is offline [More]
hi, i am using a ALV report now i want to make it interactive. as i click on the current page i need to go MIR4 transaction. how can i do it? please please help on this issue.to make an alv interactive  i did the following steps try it by yourself th [More]
Hi everyone, I have a problem with the following sql: I am getting duplicate rows. Please let me know if any other join codition is missing. select AP_INVOICE_DISTRIBUTIONS_ALL.INVOICE_ID      ,AP_INVOICE_DISTRIBUTIONS_ALL.DISTRIBUTION_LINE_NUMBER    [More]
Hi. I am trying to use the OWB_DEMO files found on the website. The OWB client is installed on a Windows XP SP3 laptop; when I try to use the OMBINSTALL OWB_TARGET_USER, I'm getting this error: ORACLE_HOME(or OWBCC_HOME for Clearcase) environment var [More]
Hello all, What is the meaning of by-products and co-products?? Pls ans. Thanks and Regards, Umakanth.dear A co-product is a product that is produced in conjunction with other products. The system creates a separate order item in the production order [More]
I will build a 3 system TMS with DEV, QAS and PRD. But now, I have only DEV system available, and QAS and PRD system will available several month later. And before QAS and PRD system available, the developer will develop in DEV system, so how can I b [More]
hi, Can any one tell me the syntax for calling a subscreen. my task is to display both bar chart and pie chart adjacently in a single screen. Thanks. samyu.First you define a Subscreen area in the layout of the Screen where you want to call the Subsc [More]
I have a DVD that still appears in the finder, under "places", with the "burn" icon next to it, even though the DVD is no longer in the computer's reader. How did that happen and what do I do? Thanks!Humph... I know I have had these ex [More]