Sitemap

Amicuk Programming Answers

Is Dreamweaver the best tool for creating a review site with user ratings/reviews? CMS?

-0001-11-30   Views:0

Advertisement

Hello everyone, I am really wanting to develop an online gaming review website and have some Dreamweaver/Wordpress/CMS questions i am hoping you can all help me with, thank you in advance for your patience as i am new to site development. I am thinki

Hello everyone,
I am really wanting to develop an online gaming review website and have some Dreamweaver/Wordpress/CMS questions i am hoping you can all help me with, thank you in advance for your patience as i am new to site development.
I am thinking of creating a review site which will involve me writing about 100 online gaming reviews, and then getting users to upload their comments/feedback, etc. Each of the reviews would be updated monthly with stats, performance, and other details. Each review would contain a text review, video review, and various images and screenshots. Integrating user-generated content will be a big factor.
I am trying to de-confuse myself with all the prep work around making sure i have the right tools and technology i need to be successful. Many people tell me i should use Wordpress due to the nature of my site, or at least a combination of Wordpress and Dreamweaver - not sure how that would work exactly. I dont want to be too dependant on just Wordpress because i want to be sure my site can be customized and i grow and enable more advanted value for my site visitors. ...i would love to have a members only area at some point in the near future.
Please see below for some questions running through my head:
1. Do i need a seperate CMS tool? ...and which may be best considering the nature of my site?
2. Should i use Wordpress instead? ...or a combination of Wordpress and Dreamweaver? - why should i use a combination of the two?
3. SEO is a major factor - does that make a difference?
4. My reviews will need to be updated monthly, so i will try to maximize the use of templates, etc. Do i need to create a dynamic site in Dreamweaver or will a CMS manage that?
5. Which options are best to avoid as much as manual coding as possible
Thank for you taking the time to read this, ...any tips/guideance would be appreciated.
Thank you,
Harps

The replay answer
Advertisement
Short answer: You don't need Dreamweaver.  Simply install WordPress on your server and use it to build your site & add/edit content. 
Star Ratings plug-in for WordPress
http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/gd-star-rating/
WordPress Theme with Review Engine
http://www.dailywp.com/review-engine-theme/
Nancy O.

Go to See the other 9 answers

Is Dreamweaver the best tool for creating a review site with user ratings/reviews? CMS?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hello everyone, I am really wanting to develop an online gaming review website and have some Dreamweaver/Wordpress/CMS questions i am hoping you can all help me with, thank you in advance for your patience as i am new to site development. I am thinki[More]

Is Dreamweaver an appropriate tool for creating a Help system?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hi, I have the full Adobe Creative Suite and I'm looking to create a Help system. Is Dreamweaver an appropriate tool for this, or is there another tool that would be better? I don't have Robohelp. RobynHi Robyn Robohelp and most of the other help sys[More]

Creating a new site

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Whats going on with creating a new site using Dreamweaver CS4?  When I create a new site and select the 'Local Root Folder' & 'Default images folder' I always have to go up one folder level. For example if my site was located here 'C:\Users\Me\Docume[More]

Does CS5 have tools for creating websites for mobile devices?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Does DW CS5 have any built in tools for creating web pages for mobile devices, iPads, iPhones, etc? Thanks.This will go back to your other post about the CSS tables, it depends on how much you know.  CSS3 is a style language and while support is grow[More]

Best tool to create websites like facebook,myspace?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

which is best tool software to create websites like facebook,pinterest as easy as possible....The best tool to create a website like that is the programmer, not the program. You will need to learn HTML, PHP, CSS and some form of database (mySQL is go[More]

Unable to use B2B Document Editor tool to create guideline from data file

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Does anyone successfully used the B2B Document Editor tool to generate the guideline doc from an HL7 data file ? I attempted to use the SpecGenerator feature of this tool to create a guideline from the "a01.xml" sample file in the HL7 tutorials[More]

What are the tools to create a digital magazine for ipad version and how can be place it in newsstand?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hello.. "what are the tools to create a digital magazine for ipad version and how can be place it in newsstand?" I am very tired after done a week of R&D on this issue.. But i doesn't get any fair solution for this one.. I hope this is best[More]

What are all the different methods/tools for creating animations that work in IBA?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

I've been developing HTML5 animations in Sencha and attempting to use the HTML widget in IBA.  It's not going as seamless as I was hoping, and I was wondering if there are better methods/tools to create animations for IBA.  In my opinion, the primary[More]

Is Dreamweaver the best tool for building HTML?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Just wondering if Is Dreamweaver the best tool for building HTML? What are your thoughts?DW is an industry standard, pro-level software.  It can do as little or as much as your coding skills allow for. It supports modern X/HTML, CSS, JavaScript, XML,[More]

How do I turn off the curvature tool in CC, I chose the selection tool to create a box and the middle selector that allows you to adjust the size has disappeared?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

How do I turn off the curvature tool in CC, I chose the selection tool to create a box and the middle selector that allows you to adjust the size has disappeared? My coworker discovered making ti a compound path by right clicking it and selecting it.[More]

When I use the scissors tool to create a segment of a track, select the segment and bounce it, about 15-20 seconds of silence is added to the beginning of the resulting segment. What causes this?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

When I use the scissors tool to create a segment of a track, select the segment and bounce it, about 15-20 seconds of silence is added to the beginning of the bounce. What causes this?Thanks for the replies. I reviewed them shortly after they were su[More]

Hot
Hello experts, We have a customer who is on SAP 8.81 PL:00. They are trying to use XL reporter but when they try using XL reporter, they get: Run time Error 91 The system then freezes. Have checked they have Microsoft.net 1.1 which they do and that t [More]
Hi, I have gone through the forum in trying to understand the standard sap batch program, but still unable to do so. I have a requirement where I need to use standard sap batch program RFBIBL00 I need to use T.code: F-22 for processing I have a posti [More]
I want to know what I need and then how to take a pdf form I created in word and add the blue boxes so that anyone can type into my formHey [email protected], Could you please specify how exactly have you created your form. You might need to have Acrobat in [More]
Hi everybody! I'm trying to upgrade a CRS-1/8 from 3.9.2 to 4.3.0 1) It's a CRS-1 with redundant RPs, I think it's not a problem. http://www.cisco.com/en/US/partner/prod/collateral/routers/ps5763/product_bulletin_c25-663499.html 2) Current rommon ver [More]
Hi, My requirement is that I need to post an IDOC with segment version 3.1H. I have imported metadata for 6.40 ( I have no choice of picking up the Segment Version while importing in IDX2). I configured receiver IDOC Adapter with Segment Version opti [More]
Hi, I've just got a bunch of avi files, and am trying to get them playing in QuickTime. I get the white screen, so download every codec under the sun to try and get it working (I know being on Tiger means I haven't really got a good start). The thing [More]
I sometimes use the iPhone earbuds to make calls. Ever since the release of iPhone software version 2.2, the beep sound that one hears when hanging up a call using the microphone/clicker is VERY faint. Now when I use the headset to make calls, I can [More]
Hey everyone, I have a MacBook Pro that I purchased about five months ago. Everything was fine until I downloaded Battery Update 1.2 At this point everytime I ran the machine with the battery I would receive incorrect times as to how much battery pow [More]
Guam<--(United States Terretories) Not able to purchase digital copy from online store? Why?  especially developers program. is their anyway to get service directly from Main Land rather than going to other countries' or 3rd party resellers' to get p [More]
Hello, I am not too bad with Macs, but really don't know much about what happens in the Terminal. I need a little help with something odd that happened since a few hours : When I open the terminal, instead of getting [name of my computer]:∼ I get vuz [More]