Sitemap

Amicuk Programming Answers

Is Dreamweaver the best tool for creating a review site with user ratings/reviews? CMS?

-0001-11-30   Views:0

Advertisement

Hello everyone, I am really wanting to develop an online gaming review website and have some Dreamweaver/Wordpress/CMS questions i am hoping you can all help me with, thank you in advance for your patience as i am new to site development. I am thinki

Hello everyone,
I am really wanting to develop an online gaming review website and have some Dreamweaver/Wordpress/CMS questions i am hoping you can all help me with, thank you in advance for your patience as i am new to site development.
I am thinking of creating a review site which will involve me writing about 100 online gaming reviews, and then getting users to upload their comments/feedback, etc. Each of the reviews would be updated monthly with stats, performance, and other details. Each review would contain a text review, video review, and various images and screenshots. Integrating user-generated content will be a big factor.
I am trying to de-confuse myself with all the prep work around making sure i have the right tools and technology i need to be successful. Many people tell me i should use Wordpress due to the nature of my site, or at least a combination of Wordpress and Dreamweaver - not sure how that would work exactly. I dont want to be too dependant on just Wordpress because i want to be sure my site can be customized and i grow and enable more advanted value for my site visitors. ...i would love to have a members only area at some point in the near future.
Please see below for some questions running through my head:
1. Do i need a seperate CMS tool? ...and which may be best considering the nature of my site?
2. Should i use Wordpress instead? ...or a combination of Wordpress and Dreamweaver? - why should i use a combination of the two?
3. SEO is a major factor - does that make a difference?
4. My reviews will need to be updated monthly, so i will try to maximize the use of templates, etc. Do i need to create a dynamic site in Dreamweaver or will a CMS manage that?
5. Which options are best to avoid as much as manual coding as possible
Thank for you taking the time to read this, ...any tips/guideance would be appreciated.
Thank you,
Harps

The replay answer
Advertisement
Short answer: You don't need Dreamweaver.  Simply install WordPress on your server and use it to build your site & add/edit content. 
Star Ratings plug-in for WordPress
http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/gd-star-rating/
WordPress Theme with Review Engine
http://www.dailywp.com/review-engine-theme/
Nancy O.

Go to See the other 9 answers

Is Dreamweaver the best tool for creating a review site with user ratings/reviews? CMS?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hello everyone, I am really wanting to develop an online gaming review website and have some Dreamweaver/Wordpress/CMS questions i am hoping you can all help me with, thank you in advance for your patience as i am new to site development. I am thinki[More]

Is Dreamweaver an appropriate tool for creating a Help system?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hi, I have the full Adobe Creative Suite and I'm looking to create a Help system. Is Dreamweaver an appropriate tool for this, or is there another tool that would be better? I don't have Robohelp. RobynHi Robyn Robohelp and most of the other help sys[More]

Creating a new site

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Whats going on with creating a new site using Dreamweaver CS4?  When I create a new site and select the 'Local Root Folder' & 'Default images folder' I always have to go up one folder level. For example if my site was located here 'C:\Users\Me\Docume[More]

Does CS5 have tools for creating websites for mobile devices?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Does DW CS5 have any built in tools for creating web pages for mobile devices, iPads, iPhones, etc? Thanks.This will go back to your other post about the CSS tables, it depends on how much you know.  CSS3 is a style language and while support is grow[More]

Best tool to create websites like facebook,myspace?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

which is best tool software to create websites like facebook,pinterest as easy as possible....The best tool to create a website like that is the programmer, not the program. You will need to learn HTML, PHP, CSS and some form of database (mySQL is go[More]

Unable to use B2B Document Editor tool to create guideline from data file

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Does anyone successfully used the B2B Document Editor tool to generate the guideline doc from an HL7 data file ? I attempted to use the SpecGenerator feature of this tool to create a guideline from the "a01.xml" sample file in the HL7 tutorials[More]

What are the tools to create a digital magazine for ipad version and how can be place it in newsstand?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hello.. "what are the tools to create a digital magazine for ipad version and how can be place it in newsstand?" I am very tired after done a week of R&D on this issue.. But i doesn't get any fair solution for this one.. I hope this is best[More]

What are all the different methods/tools for creating animations that work in IBA?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

I've been developing HTML5 animations in Sencha and attempting to use the HTML widget in IBA.  It's not going as seamless as I was hoping, and I was wondering if there are better methods/tools to create animations for IBA.  In my opinion, the primary[More]

Is Dreamweaver the best tool for building HTML?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Just wondering if Is Dreamweaver the best tool for building HTML? What are your thoughts?DW is an industry standard, pro-level software.  It can do as little or as much as your coding skills allow for. It supports modern X/HTML, CSS, JavaScript, XML,[More]

How do I turn off the curvature tool in CC, I chose the selection tool to create a box and the middle selector that allows you to adjust the size has disappeared?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

How do I turn off the curvature tool in CC, I chose the selection tool to create a box and the middle selector that allows you to adjust the size has disappeared? My coworker discovered making ti a compound path by right clicking it and selecting it.[More]

When I use the scissors tool to create a segment of a track, select the segment and bounce it, about 15-20 seconds of silence is added to the beginning of the resulting segment. What causes this?

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

When I use the scissors tool to create a segment of a track, select the segment and bounce it, about 15-20 seconds of silence is added to the beginning of the bounce. What causes this?Thanks for the replies. I reviewed them shortly after they were su[More]

Hot
I have a Kodak all in one wifi enabled printer. I can only print things like pictures and stuff but can't print documents from my Ipad2. is there anything i can do to enable me print documents?Wadamu wrote: I have a Kodak all in one wifi enabled prin [More]
Dear SAP experts, I need your help in rebate agreements (RA). I have setup the condition tables for RAs to accept Sales Area, ship-to, and EAN (MARA-EAN11) as combination. Together with material determination table, it does a mapping/substitution whe [More]
I am hoping someone can point me the right directions for the following use case. In our SharePoint site collection various pages are referring to external content (for example: an article page on msdn or wikipedia). Whenever the user is searching fo [More]
G'day All, I have an old, old PC which I would like to install my Combo drive into. It is the Philips CDD5301. WinMe recognises the model number etc, but it does not have any CD-RW or DVD capabilities, just a bulk standard CD-Rom. I have dowloaded a [More]
Hi Experts, In Smartform I am having a table in which data is coming at runtime more than a page  and have to sum the column fields and to display at the end of the table.At the bottom of every page the table column lines look unfinished..How to put [More]
We use Portal for displaying discoverer worksheets. In portal we select the "display to user using Publishers connection". However, when users click analyze on the report it prompts them for a password. Is there any way around this. We don't wan [More]
HI ALL, I m transferring my itab from main program to SMARTFORMS...itab has a quantity type field. When i execute my program, i get error message "Reference field WA-CR is unknown in form". <b>Have ur points..</b> Regards,Every quant [More]
i got imovie last week and i'm curious if it has this clip/effect.It starts from 0:00 - 0:09.I want to put pictures of my choice in the boxes as intros for a couple of videos i'm doing. http://youtube.com/watch?v=tbkmDisF6r0i got imovie last week and [More]
Hi All, I am configuring Solution Monitoring in Solution Manager , I have connected the sateelite systems to solution manager and geneerated the RFC destination , everytjing is fine , But while Activating the Solution Monitoring , I observed that No [More]
Faces in Photos showed up blank after the upgrades (no labeled faces at all) with the suggested faces mostly full of 100's of blank white circles. I used to have about 50 faces labeled with about 2500 photos. Now I have no labeled faces on top of pag [More]