Sitemap

Amicuk Programming Answers

Shrinking ram previews, even with All Purged!

-0001-11-30   Views:0

Advertisement

Hi there, I had the same problem with AE ram previews on my G4 Powerbook that I am now having on the MacBook Pro which replaced it. What happens is the ram previews get shorter and shorter. I have two gigs of memory, not a ton, but enough for at leas

Hi there,
I had the same problem with AE ram previews on my G4 Powerbook that I am now having on the MacBook Pro which replaced it.
What happens is the ram previews get shorter and shorter. I have two gigs of memory, not a ton, but enough for at least a minute and a half of ram preview time at half resolution (D1 project). I just opened a project, loaded up a ram preview and it loads well over a minute and a half. Then what happens is I keep working and creating new portions to ram preview and little by little the ram preview time gets smaller and smaller. Before long, I have a 20 second region selected for ram preview and it only loads 2 seconds.
If I Purge All I will then get about 30 seconds of preview time, but soon after, it gets down to a second, and sometimes just a few frames. I have to quit the program and start it up again to get the full preview time... :(!
Because this exact same problem happened with my last Apple laptop, I assume this is a problem not with the computer, or the particular memory, but with either AfterEffects, or some of the other software I have on my computer, which is Logic Studio, Flash, Illustrator, Photoshop CS3 and a bunch of smaller apps. But I really can't believe it's any of the other apps... Anyway, that's why I have written. To see if anyone else has encountered this problem, or heard about it.
Thanks so much!
Again, I have a MacBook Pro
2.2 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 DRAM
21 GB available disc space on the actual computer
Mac OS 10.4.10
AE CS3 8.0.2.27

The replay answer
Advertisement
Thanks again! I really really appreciate your advice.
The format I have been using was quicktime DVC50 NTSC exported directly from FCP. And, again, this behavior is identical to the way AE behaved on other projects and an earlier version of the OS like 5 months ago... It's really since I upgraded to the latest version of AE. But I have been considering upgrading to 10.5 for a while now. Maybe now it the time... It's worth a try.
I have purged the media cache. Again, it will free up some portion, but not all, and afterwards this "sticky filling" starts to happen much faster.
Of course, after posting the blog AE behaved perfectly! Just to make things more strange! Hopefully somebody will have heard of this problem and know how to solve, or at least can offer more clues.
Thanks again for your great help, Mylenium.

Go to See the other 6 answers

Shrinking ram previews, even with All Purged!

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Hi there, I had the same problem with AE ram previews on my G4 Powerbook that I am now having on the MacBook Pro which replaced it. What happens is the ram previews get shorter and shorter. I have two gigs of memory, not a ton, but enough for at leas[More]

Ram Preview Need 2 or more Frames to playback

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

Ram Preview Need 2 or more Frames to playback error everytime i use the ram preview. I tried purging memory and didn't help. The problem is that the ram isn't enough even though I have 16 gb and i tried allocating different amounts. I tried rendering[More]

Short Previews cause Need to Purge after each; 8 Gig Ram though!

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

I just upgraded to CS5 from CS3 and upgraded computers to a Win7 64 bit, i7 930, 8 Gig Ram.  Upon initially doing a ram preview on my project, it works fine and fills up to the preset ceiling of about 6 Gig of ram.  Subsequent previews, however, are[More]

After Effects CS6 error: RAM Preview needs 2 or more frames to playback - any ideas please?

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Hi everyone, I'm running After Effects CS6 (11.0.4.2) on a MacBook Pro 2.8Ghz with 16GB RAM (Mac OS 10.9.4) As a test, I created a 3 and a half minute Sequence in Adobe Premiere CS6, and then imported this into After Effects CS6, and placed it on the[More]

After Effects will RAM Preview not in real time

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Hi, we have 3 adobe After Effects CC up to date here, we are working on a 60fps project in HD 1080. Nothing crazy. We have 20 Gigas of ram. Mac OS 10.8.5 octo core 2011. ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024 Mo. SSD disque crucial m500 256 gigas. We have a lot of[More]

RAM previewing and rendering not working correctly

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Hi, Today I was just about finished editing a video on CS6 and then when I'm about to add the last effect and render it it stuffs up on me:(. What happens is that while RAM previewing at some point during the loading of the preview it will stop loadi[More]

Vertex Array Object deleted after full screen RAM preview

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

Hi, I'm writing a plugin where I use OpenGL VAOs. Everything works fine, also RAM preview, but when I cancel full screen RAM preview and render a new frame the VAO is somehow deleted. I called glGenVertexArrays for testing and the handle it returns i[More]

AE CC 2014.1.1 the plague of "ram preview needs 2 or more frames"

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

As i said abot Premiere CC 2014.1, for me AE CC 2014.1.1 is the worst version of this sw ever on my system. Specs: i7980x GTX680 4GB 24GB ram Asus P6T deluxe mobo 2 SSD Intel, one for AE cache I'm experiencing continuos crash from AE. I'm on a big pr[More]

AE CS5 (10.0.1.19) Ram Preview - Audio stops and continue playing randomly

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

I already reported this issue to Adobe as a BUG but I want to ask here if somebody else have this problem or can confirm it. Audio breaks/stops and continue playing randomly when 'Ram Previewing' It happens mostly when the RAM is fully filled up with[More]

Ram Preview not working correctly

Category:DefaultRelease time:2015-10-11Views:130

On one machine here, when the artist goes to do a ram preview, they only get grey frames in the comp window. Either that or they get a freeze of the first frame in the render region, but no motion. I have tried deleting prefs, zapping Pram, deleting[More]

RAM preview needs 2 or more frames, I've got a clue...

Category:DefaultRelease time:-0001-11-30Views:130

After struggling for half an hour or so, I think I'm on the right way to find a solution to this annoying problem. I'm using CS5 on Win7 x64 Ultimate. The problem is that AE cannot starts the ram preview: "after effects error: RAM preview needs 2 or[More]

Hot
Hi, i'm looking for a component which can render a CLOB type xml data. The expected size of the xml could be upto 6mb which needs to be presented in the xml format. Thanks .Thanks for your response. The use case is , we need to show a xml message fil [More]
I recently installed an SSD and set it up as my boot drive, and I'm using another hard drive for my Home folder, if I ever run into a scenario that I need to restore my entire system, how will Time Machine handle it? Will it restore my system back to [More]
hi can some one brief me about business objects ?Im very new to this and what basic knowledge we need to have? what exactly is bob and hw to get them in to bi? Regards, SmithaHello Smitha, please find some [end user documents|https://websmp106.sap-ag [More]
Hi all. I am working in BW 3.5 and trying to load a flat file in to my ODS.  Everything thing seems to work fine with one exception. If I have a file such as:  05, 12345, "Masters Inc.", 98765 I can load this fine because I have set my data sepa [More]
please help! ive bin saving for a while to get a playbook nd finally got one ysterday.  i was so tired nd cudnt set it up ysterday. however today, when i did try to set it up over my office wifi, it just keeps on telling me could not register this ta [More]
Hi. Is it possible to get / select user information in xMII version 12? E.g. username, email and so on for users created within NW user management? BR. Poul.Poul, The Admin and SystemInfo services will still provide you with the user/role namespace b [More]
Hi! Have tried from two sources buying and downloading Adobe e-books and each time when I download them, Adobe Digital Editions starts up and then it just crashes without finalizing the book. When I then reopen the ADE again the book title is there, [More]
hi all,     When I am using the function maodule reuse_alv_fieldcatalog_merge for building the field catalog in alv list,it was giving abend message as 'Field catalog is empty'.      what might be the reason for such message?can some one help me out [More]
Is there an easy firewall for Mountain Lion server? Im amazed Apple took this feature away. For what reason? I dont know command line very well and shouldnt have to learn it seeing as how Macs are supposed to be "user friendly". Doing a port sca [More]
I cant log into my other skype account. i changed the password tiwce still i cant log in.Please help me to solve the issue.my skype id is. beatific.csHi , Do you get a particular error message when trying to login to your account? If you would like t [More]